Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education has been practically compulsory in society only in recent human history. Previously, formal education was not required to obtain a place in the workforce. Due to increasing complexity of workplace and technological advancements, formal education is mandatory to get a job now. I agree with the statement because I think formal education is a necessity of a technologically advanced society, not a means to free our minds and spirits. To achieve spiritual and mental freedom, self-study driven by passion and curiosity is much more effective.

At school level, formal education teaches us basic mathematics, language skills, social sciences and science to provide us a background for further education. At higher levels, we only obtain degrees that lead us to certain places in the workforce. The whole structure of formal education is designed primarily to serve the purpose of developing skilled workforce. To do that, the students are indoctrinated and boxed in a methodological way of learning and applying their skills. Exposure to knowledge may inspire mental and spiritual freedom to few, but most are trained to be a just a participant in the workforce.

Formal education may hamper the spiritual elevation of most individuals by boxing their thought process into specific ideologies and principles that are already well established. One can achieve true freedom of thought only if he decides to do so. Formal education might play a small role by being a primary exposure to existing knowledge, but the individual must gain knowledge, think and analyze independently to transcend the existing ideas. Informal exploration of knowledge such as reading philosophy, arts, history and, literature play a greater role in mental and spiritual development than formal education.

The necessity of formal education is undeniable in current society. However, one must address its true purpose as a tool to train skilled workers instead of confusing it with spiritual liberation. True pursuit of knowledge sets one free, but it does not come through the structured and constrained process of formal education.