Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I mostly agree with the prompt that our mental and spiritual aspects are trapped when passed through formal education. The reason for such is because of two factors listed in the following passages.But, I do concede that in some cases main stream education also helps in certain ways.

To begin, Each individual has a different approach towards each and every problem and teaching every student with a single approach, indeed, hinders the mental and spiritual freedom. For example, if a students is better in understanding things with pragmatic approach rather than theoretical approach is compared with another student who is better in grasping things theoretically .The latter one will conspicuously understand concepts easily and this is because of the formal way of educating. thus, not applying different methods for different types of students apparently impedes, the growth and freedom of mental and spiritual state .

Secondly, traditional way of educating also blocks alternate way of thinking to complex problems and circumscribes the flexibility of thinking.For instance, most of the students with formal education will always tend to one find of solution as thy all are trained for approaching the problems with same way. also, if a student with formal education is placed with a student who is "street smart", street smart individual would outsmart the formally educated indivudial in most of the situations. As the first individual had learned solution for multiple problems from many trials and errors of heterogeneous approachs.thus formally educated student would be encapsulated into a state of captive mind and soul.

Further more, I would also agree to the fact that formal education does also helps in few aspects of thinking which might be helpful. For example, In multiple occations there might be cases where an individual is unable to find the solution to a problem then in such kind of cases knowning a traditional approach would be "life-saving". thus , in some cases it it good to have formal education.