GRE sample issue pool essay topic 53

Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Discoveries and inventions are results of creative explorations of brilliant minds. Scientists and inventors ask critical and innovative questions, and seek the answers. In the process of finding the answer, he may be led to another direction, finding a new problem and a solution to that. On the other hand, he can end up finding the answer to the question he was asking. Creative investigations are like a walk in the unknown, nobody knows what he will find until he makes the journey.

In my opinion, I feel ambiguos about the statement since both of the instances are prevalent in human history. I neither agree or disagree with the statement. Rather, I would like to elaborate on instances where the statement is true along with instances where the statement is false.

Throughout human history, often scientists picked a problem and solved it exactly. For example, Einstein wanted to find a general theory of relativity to account for the mismatch between classical mechanics and electromagnetism, and he successfully constructed a general theory of relativity. Another example would be the construction of nuclear bomb. The invention of nuclear bomb was planned and goal oriented. Thousands of scientists, workers and researchers worked on it and made it a reality. A recent example is the development of quantum computers. Many other technological innovations such as mobile phone, nuclear reactors, computers were invented by posing a problem, and finding solutions to it via asking questions and finding answers. These are the examples of cases where creative endevaours were accomplished via asking questions and seeking answers to them.

On the other hand, philosophical and mathematical questions often lead us to more questions. An example would be the invention of calculus. Isaac Newton invented the theory of gravitation for point particles at first. To generealize the theory to extended objects, he eventually invented calculus. Max Planck invented quantum mechanics while trying to explain the Blackbody radiation phenomenon. Dirac ended up predicting antiparticles while he was trying to find a relativistic quantum mechanical equation. All these are instances where the scientists and ended up accidentally finding a new phenomenon while trying to answer a particular question.

I would say there are lots of improtant discoveries that were planned and organised and many were accidental. There are plethora of examples of both of the cases. Hence I refuse to agree or disagree with the mentioned statement and maintain a neutral position. However, I would like to point out that the philosophical and mathematical explorations diverges to more questions, whereas technological endevaours are generally straightforward.