Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A Government is a body of people elected by the people, for the people. I consider the government to be the people’s servant as their main goal is to look out for the people of the country that they govern. I would have to disagree with the recommendation for a few reasons.

If the government officials relied solely on their own judgement, it would result in another form of dictatorship. For example, Germany was governed by the Nazi party who ruled Germany by solely relying on their own judgement. This resulted to the infamous world wars. More power leads to increase in ego and pride which ultimately results in destruction.

If the government officials are given complete power over the country, there is no guarantee that they would build the nation they are governing. A perfect example of this would be North Korea under the rule of Kim Jong Un. Articles after articles suggest that North Korea is on a downward spiral.

In conclusion, a government is elected to look after the bigger picture of the nation that they govern but they should also work on improving the well being of the people by listening to the concerns of the citizens of that nation.