Government should focus it's attention in immediate problem rather than anticipated problems of future.

The speaker claims that the government instead of focusing on the future problem must pay it's entire attention in today's problem. At the first glance the claim seems plausible and it is tempting to agree to the speaker; however the case cannot be applied to all situation. I only partially agree to the speaker's claim as in many instance the speaker seem agreeable and in other instance not agreeable.

To begin with, immediate problems like poverty, hunger, unemployment are serious one in generally developing countries like Nepal, and many other African countries. The condition of people is so poor that if any of the resources of country is diverted to other problems, the people there will starve and die. These countries are not economically sustained enough to mobilize its money towards future problem. Thus, in those countries where basic needs of people are still not attained it is not wise for government to focus it's attention towards future problem.

On the flip side, there are many countries in the world where the living standard of people is high. The people there are well of and living in luxury. Government is rich enough with excess resources even after fulfilling the basic needs of it's citizen too. In such country, government must focus on solving future problem. Various problems like global warming, sea level rise have exacerbated because of industrial development in such countries and its their responsibility to help mitigate these problems.Having said this I do not mean that developed countries should completely focus it's attention in future problem. After solving immediate problem they are still capable to pay attention to the future problem so these problems also should not be neglected.

Additionally, the sector of focus also depends on the nature of the problems. The problems like ozone layer depletion, is future anticipated problem but if the problem is not addressed at present context, we cannot imagine being able to solve this in the future. It will be already too late because it depends on today's action. Similarly, some problems like petroleum fuel scarcity, it is not that great problem at present however can bring great disaster in future if we do not care about it at present and do not pay attention in developing alternative of it. While there are various problems like flood, landslide in the developed countries too. These problems need to be addressed immediately without any delay.

To sum up, developing countries should try first in focusing in immediate problems as they cannot afford using the resources in future problem. But in case of developed countries since they are well off they must pay attention in solving future problem but that attention should not come at the cost of immediate problems as these problems need to be addressed very soon.