Government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students

It is imperative for a citizen to expect public services granted by the government of a nation. These services are provided across domains such as healthcare, education, environment, infrastructure, etc. Providing these public services ensures the progress of the nation and creates positive notions among its citizens. Different countries have different public services being provided to their citizens such as primary education, health services, and public infrastructure but there are numerous others that are demanded by people to be included in this list to make their lives easier and living worthwhile. Some like free money to unemployed youth can be debated, others like free higher education are considered good for the growth of the nation as a whole.

Like health, education is a sector in which an investment would result in multi-faceted development. For example, an educated child will not only act as a catalyst in the nation's progress by contributing to the economics of the nation but also make sure his or her child is well-informed of its rights such as freedom of speech or expression is not curbed. He or she will also ensure the health of the family making a nation of healthy people. it has been researched that a country spending a higher amount of its GDP on education fairs better than countries where spending in education is overlooked. Compare the countries such as China or India where spending is greater than 3% of the entire GDP versus Ethiopia, or Ghana where it is less than 1% of GDP. The country as a whole is progressing for the former group.

Another obvious advantage of free higher education is that it reduces the financial obligation for students to pursue higher education. A lot of students may drop out while transitioning to higher education due to high loans incurred for the same. An average US student with MBA has a loan of over $30000 even before graduating college. Not everyone is capable of earning more than that and this situation leads to a vicious cycle for students. A domino effect is seen when a student chooses a sub-standard college for education because he or she cannot afford a particular college of interest. Hence it becomes a duty of the government to provide equitable opportunities for its citizenry to learn up until college.

But this change needs to be thought through well as free higher education for all will reduce the sense of belonging for the students as they would take studies for granted and may not be able to clear their exams. Also, allowing everyone to take higher education for free forces students to take up the education in spite of exploring other avenues of interest.

Thus government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students and at the same time devise solutions for students to take up education as per their will and also ensure higher engagement of students during the education program.