Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research is increasing day by day as people are discovering new things. Yet people are unknown about many unidentified and terrifying discoveries made while doing the research. And huge amount of money invested in the process is going to waste while the money could have been used in something better. So, I mostly agree with the author that if the results or finding are not clear then government should not provide fund for that kind of scientific research and I am going to give two examples why.

Firstly, the discoveries that are made during the research or experiment can cause a lot of loss. Not every finding will upgrade us but many of these discoveries can bring terrifying results. For instance, Atom Bomb was also an experiment and many of the people did not knew that it would cause that many harm and kill a whole state. It was just an experiment and no one knew the consequences and we can see it in present day also that people are scared to talk about the attack. Not only that, for many years as a result of the attack the rain was acidic and the acid rain killed all flora and fauna. In my opinion only the finding with vivid results and consequences should be allowed otherwise the bombing like this can happen and destroy many of us.

Similarly, a lot of advancement in research is also causing the tension of creating new vicious viruses. A lot of scientists are working on different diseases and trying to find different alternatives. But sometimes this may result in creating other menacing disease which may kill or harm humans, animals as well as plants. For example, this kind of discoveries are first tested on animals and then if the result is successful then only on human. Poor animals are getting killed for the sake of new findings which may or may not work. Not only this but also disease like COVID and many more can spread which can threaten and can upside down the whole life of people. For one small discovery which may or may not work no one should risk the entire population of the globe. As it is crystal clear that many of the discoveries which are unclear are capable oh harming us as well.

Yet there may arise a question, “People can find unexpected result too even the consequences are unclear.” But with proper conclusion people can find much more and has been a lot of discoveries. In todays, date where people are dying of hunger and lack of basic needs, we cannot be more selfish and proceed to spend money on the results that are not even sure. It may or may not bear a fruitful consequence but we cannot risk entire flora and fauna for the sake of our experiment. If the money is spent on something clear and beneficial then a lot of people who are in need will receive support and help.