Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Every person who is a newcomer to the field of scientific research and is being introduced to the rigors of it, will come across this empirical question. The age old question that should any "body" even bother to carry out an experimentation whose results and the side effects don't seem to be lucid enough? The "body" could be anyone; an agency, a person with right motives, or the government. This prompt asks whether the governments should invest in a scientific research which doesn't have a limpid end fleshed out. I strongly disagree to the prompt above, because of the following three reasonings.

Firstly, If every research was to be so fleshed out and be so sure to predict a certain result and all it's side effects, then, frankly, there wouldn't have been any progress at all. Majority of the significant discoveries and inventions that have enlightened the scientific community all over the globe has been because of the unpredictable nature of the experimentations. For example, if Alexendar Fleming hadn't carried out his experimentations on the lesser significant and conceptually immature research topic, he wouldn't have eventually stumbled upon the what we like to call a modern day panacea, the "Pennicilin". Such serendipitous encounters are only possible if we are willing to take enough risks. In other words, serendipitous encounters imply that there are some negative encounters too, but we must be able to take those risks and increase the chances of those lucky breakthroughs to happen.

The second reason why I disagree with the given suggestion is that the majority of the research is not carried out by the mature and experienced researchers . It is obvious that the more experienced researches are more likely to create a more thought through and predictable research with relatively minor risks associated with it. And rightly so the government are interested in those types of researches just for the lesser risk prospect. But, those type of well panned out researches are very rare because of both the highly proficient scientists required to be involved in it and the fact that such researches are possible in only typical circumstances-qualitative researches are relatively risk free in comparison to quantitative research-. This implies that the many researches are in-fact premature and if the governments were to invest in only those well though out rare researches, then plenty of promising research would go begging. For example, the successful countries harbouring a healthy scientific environment have the tendency to support the emerging researches so that more work could be done.

However, there may arise a counterargument that if the government is so offhand in it's approach in providing funding, then a lot of resources may be wasted. But in order to encourage innovation and more breakthroughs an impasse between the two approaches must be made. There needs to be a balance between supporting the emerging talent and investing on the wise heads of the experienced researchers. That is why governments all around the globe must incline towards providing funding to the researches with a deft balance between backing the innovation and investing in the assured.