Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Research and development nowadays become a basic need of every small and big organisation. Such department are responsible for proper working and time to time development of technology used at organisation. In addition to this, such organisation also ensure that every implemented strategy is efficient for organisation.

The statement presented here needs some correction though idea is not refutable but in spite of saying restrictions over research and development it would be better to say that proper vigilance is needed to be implemented on scientific research and development. As almost all scientific research organization work independently and they require very large amount of money for working it is also important to keep record about the research which is going on. to make it more clear let's say research and development department demands some amount (in billions) for a new research and later on that research was over and wasn't proved prolific in such case government must have a clear report about the failure of research and how much it cost them since there are chances that due to some venal staff the whole research was a blunder which field pockets of officers. And there are many more cases which imitate the need of vigilance.

As scientific research is the field which needs a huge space for its working by putting some restrictions not only government will hinder the research process it also makes it onerous task which will irk the employees and will surely led to collapse the purpose of research and definitely effect the development of nation in various field.

Hence it could be concluded that scientific research and development needs surveillance rather than restriction by government. This will ensure that research and development would be well working and fruitful.