Governments should place few if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic can be interpreted from different angles before arriving at the effects of the recommendation for placing very few restrictions on scientific research and development. Indubitably, the government is responsible for the wellness of its citizens, thus it should make sure they are safe from different types of hazards that a scientific research might cause during experimentation. Nevertheless, restricting research due to predictable harmful outcomes will destroy the whole point of research. All the risks involved are worthy to take if it is developing the nation to grow in several aspects. Hence I believe that the governments should place few if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

First of all, the concept of doing scientific research emerged from the need to become a developing nation from an under-developed one and a developed nation from a developing one. To illustrate, thirty years ago, India was considered as a non-developed country in military sector as it lagged from the United States and China due to unavailability of any nuclear weapons. But the research department of Indian military developed their own nuclear bomb and more importantly, they were successful in testing those bombs in Pokhran Village. If Indian government had restricted this kind of potentially hazardous experimentation, then India might have become prey for the United States or China during the period. Furthermore, restricting scientific research and development will lead to monotonous survival of the nation. A nation would never become capable to establish a better way of living for its citizens. Apparently, the government should take risks in placing no restrictions on the research and development institutions of the country.

Admittedly, few restrictions such as banning experimental research on humans and performing private research without getting permission from the government are necessary. Without these restrictions, the greed of people would lead to enormous destruction and unnecessary hazards. However, it should not be claimed that the government should not give permission to the legit and the deserving research fellows to perform research. Because, if every risk is taken into consideration and the equipment, environment, and skills for performing a research are well tested, development in the targeted field is not far away.

In conclusion, although government should impose strict restrictions on actions that will harm people, there should be no restrictions placed on the scientific research and the risk factor involved in that particular research. The outcome of such research will lead to a development of the overall nation and thus the risk is worth taking.