GRE ISSUE: A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There has been a long standing debate whether all the school going children should have a common syllabus throughout the country. However, this conflict should have a clear favourite when everybody can sit down and think logically for the betterment of the students and the nation.I hence strongly agree with the idea of a common national curriculum for students across the country. I strongly believe so because of the following 3 reasons.

Having the same level of subjects gives equal opportunities to students across the country making sure that nobody going to an elite school has a headstart before college. Currently, In most of the government schools, some of the curriculum is either skipped or not asked in their examinations because of the higher echelon of the topics. Thus the students most often than not, ignore those topics and end up having a disadvantage when they go to college, when compared against their private school counterparts.

Enforcing a unified curriculum until high school also gives the colleges a better criteria to evaluate the students thus giving themselves a chance to pick the most creamy layer of the country. For example, India does this best by having a common entrance exam known as the JEE where the whole country studies for the exam whose syllabus is lucid to everyone in the nation. This provides a chance to pick the actual merit on the basis of the common exam that is conducted rather than having some students do extra courses in their schools who are eventually preferred by the top colleges which the other students may not have had pursued.

The idea of having a coherent curriculum also gives a lot of scope to improvise the syllabus in common to everyone that would be very rich in feedback. In the current era, where there are trends that don't even last a decade, most of the syllabus might be outdated which can be checked regularly and implemented across the country. This makes sure that the students learn only the correct set of skills that will be relevant by the time they come out as workforce for the nation thereby giving it back to the country.

Despite many people in the academia believing that it is harder for the country to regularize the content taught in schools due to a variety of factors, It might not be so bad to do it afterall. For the above mentioned reasons, Implementing this would have a positive impact on the country removing some of the social evils existing now, leading to better college education and thereby giving out a better workforce for the nation in the future.