The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries

In the history of this universe, a lot of people who had a massive influences on masses have born while a lot of people who unostentatiously did great work got unnoticed by the masses. Such is the irony of the life. These people though unrecognized by the populace go on to create an exponential effect in the world. To a certain extent I truly agree with the prompt of greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, and not by their contemporaries because of the following two reasons :

Humans, in general have a tendency to take things for granted. There's a psychological phenomena where humans will only pay attention to a thing that has a potential of giving them a loss, rather than an advantage. Due to this phenomena majority of people who are constantly working towards our better future gets unnoticed while some criminals and reprobates get public attention despite of their gruesome work. For ex, take an example of a great scientist of the 20th century Nikola Tesla, He spend all his life working on his theories and bringing a positive effect on life of people by bringing them free electricity (at least that was his motto) but he got named "Idiot", "Loner" , "Fraud" by most of the locals. He eventually died alone in a hotel loom in Las Vegas. But after some when his theories were studied by other scientist, then his intelligence and the influence of his work started disseminating and now he's called one of the greatest scientist ever to live.

Secondly, humans do not respect or acknowledge contribution of other people if, they are not the ones getting advantage out of it. This selfish nature of humans can make the greatness of people who are different from them or who are doing the work that will not benefit them to go unnoticed. Consider an example of a person who is a tech person, although whatever great things will happen in other fields such as architecture or literature, this person will not consider or even not acknowledge their greatness because they are irrelevant to him. This thing happens with millions of other individuals too, that ignored some people's work because it's too abtruse and impertinent to them therefore making the greatness of other people to go unnoticed.

Although I concede that there are people who are acknowledged, respected and have created a mass influential effect on people while they are still existing, there are hundreds of other people who's greatness has still yet to be seen or discovered. For ex: the Portuguese footballer Ronaldo, has a enormous influence throughout the world and his achievements are greatly celebrated. He is cherished everywhere he goes. Same with Muhammad Ali, Mike Tyson, Conor Mcgregor and other similar people. They have already created such an impact with their work that are known worldwide. People love them, wants to be with them and support them in any way possible.

To conclude, I personally feel like the human nature of not acknowledging the greatness and the lack of respect of some people make the work of an artist, scientist, painter, etc to go unnoticed and there's a high chance that some of them will get recognition when they have died. This ironic phenomena makes the prompt to be mostly true for some individuals.