The greatness of the individual's can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries

Greatness is a factor used to differentiate historical great leader which varies from place to place, ideology to ideology, and thinking to thinking. Greatness is not always related to welfare, charitable work, generosity or any other. It has to be related to work which is going to affect people life some how not in explicit but also in implicit manner. Greatness can be like helping in developing an constitution for equality among newly formed government or to be a apostle of any reform movement which will shape the future of country or minority on better path.

First is the example of Vladimir Lenin, the father of Bolshevik Revolution of 1917 in Russia. Who was known as founder of egalitarian government where every citizen work for the welfare of country no matter how much is your contribution. He formed such kind of government due to the circumstances, aroused during 1st world war, the Tsar was earning a lavish life while normal citizen's of Russia were dying due to scarcity of food. He is still recognised as father of nation in Russia, for his contribution to free working class from ruthless behaviour of Tsar.

Second is the example of Mahatma Gandhi, father of Nation of India. He is well known for his Dandi March along Sabarmati River to fight against British Colonizer's in peaceful and calmness way. Some citizen's do recognised him as father while some don't due to his ideological behaviour during partition of India and Pakistan. Those who don't believe in him say, Gandhiji was way more generous to Muslim's than Hindu's migrating to India. Even after massacre of people in 1947, he showed generous behaviour towards other's and let his people die. This kind of belief and disbelief vary from person to person.

Third is the example of Pablo Escobar, the drug lord of Medellin Cartel from Colombia. Who is known for his huge empire built on drugs but, some citizen's of Colombia say that he was generous people who helped people in building home and used to give money to every poor whenever he used to go out. Some even recognise him as Robinhood of Colombia, till date some still believe that he was not ruthless person and he was killed for no reason's.

I do not completely agree with the statement that individual's greatness is decided by those who lived after them rather than contemporaries. It does not hold true in each and every case, above mentioned example's either support the statement or violate somehow. Greatness will always vary from person's thinking and ideology he follow's. Some might feel like one individual is great while some may feel like he is not.