The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The assessment of a great person is not a trivial one. The prompt suggests that people's greatness can be decided only by those who live after them and I mostly agree with the idea for three reasons.

To begin with, whatever greatness a person has shown, he or she may do something wrong during the rest of his or her life. It is the person's death when he or she will have no more direct influence on society. Hence, no one can make a complete judgment until he or she dies. For instance, Yang Jian, an emperor of the Sui dynasty, had done multiple great works during his youth. He constructed the Great Canal and eliminate the starvation in China. However, he insisted on attacking Korea, which was hugely against people's will. Many insurgencies broke out during his late years. Therefore, Yang Jian eventually left a bad reputation in China's history, despite the greatness in his early life.

Second, a person's reputation can affect the person itself. If a person enjoys a wonderful reputation, he or she may consequently become complacent, which harms his or her personality. On the other hand, a too good reputation can later cause negative assessments. For instance, Chen Kaige, a director famous for his very first movie, has never produced a movie comparable with his first and greatest one. Although his other movies aren't too bad, he suffers a bad reputation since people always keep a high expectation of him. Therefore, we cannot too focus on the temporary reputation of one person, especially when it's a good one.

Moreover, contemporaries may be shortsighted, cannot foresee the long-term influence of a person. For instance, The doctor who invented an operation, in which he cut off a part of the patient's brain, was rewarded a Nobel prize. Since his contemporaries believe this can cure any mental disease. However, people later realized that such an operation often wipe out a person's personality. Therefore, he gets enormously negative judgment nowadays.

However, the feedback from contemporaries is also significant. A person must listen to other's assessments to be aware of his or her disadvantages. In conclusion, a person's greatness can be better judged by people who live after them. Since not everyone can keep his or her greatness till death, a person's good reputation may rather end in a bad reputation, and contemporaries cannot foresee the long-term influence of a person. However, we shouldn't overlook contemporaries' opinions too.