Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students

“Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students”. I agree with this statement fully. Education must be heavily subsidized or free.

Education is, like fire trucks, transportation networks and military expenditure, a public service. It would be absurd to have a fire fighter hand you a bill after putting out a raging fire on your property yet paying large fees for a higher education is perceived to be normal. And out of all these public services I mentioned, a quality higher education is probably the most important. Because it is this education that will produce the cadre of scientists, engineers, doctors, lawyers, and politicians who hold the reigns in today’s technology driven world.

Imposing an economic barrier of entry to higher education immediately cuts off the less affluent sections of society, and bars access to students who may be as good, or better than those who can afford such an education. Moreover, it greatly reduces social mobility by making it impossible for the economically weaker sections of society to take up high paying jobs, by restricting their access to the required credentials. Those that do manage to scrape up enough for what should be a basic right, often find themselves saddled with atrocious amounts of student debt, that sees them spending the next several years toiling away to pay it off. If the moral implications of an expensive education weren’t bad enough, the economic implications are even worse! A higher student debt would force university pass outs to live frugally and below their means, thereby forcing a lot of money into the pockets of banks instead of having it circulate in the economy. University education is also increasingly being perceived as a bad investment in terms of returns on investment, and many people are looking at alternatives like vocational training. While there is nothing wrong in that, this will rob the world of skilled graduates who could’ve made an even greater contribution to society, the standards of living and the economy, for the sole reason that said graduates cannot afford their education.

Arguments like high fees allowing for better R&D are inherently flawed. Universities rarely rely on fees for research. The government often provides universities with large research grants, as these projects taken up by universities are usually at the cutting edge, and thus are of vital importance in the spheres of national defence, consumer goods etc. If a for profit university were reliant on fees to maintain profitability, it would be prudent to shift to grants from the government to keep the university profitable. It would be fair to raise taxes across the board to fund universities, if that means universities are accessible to everyone, irrespective of economic standing. Thus, there are few, if any reasons to maintain such large fees for what should be a public service.