It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

With modern social media, we hear stories about heroic acts every day, and some of them are causing disagreement between different social groups, if the person is a hero or not. Yet, I disagree with the claim that nowadays society can’t regard any living person as a hero.

Take, for instance, the scientist who developed the polio vaccine. He could have earned millions by patenting his vaccine and selling the patent to different pharma companies. However, he did not submit to greed. He patented the vaccine and made it open to everyone. This allowed making the production of the vaccine cheaper and faster. The vaccine saved millions of lives during the following years. This man’s selfless action is worthy of admiration, hence he is regarded as a hero by most people who heard about him.

Another example is the whole firefighter profession. These people risk their lives in day-to-day life to save the lives and property of other people. Someone can argue that they are well-payed to do that, but the truth is firefighters are usually just very brave and altruistic people who want to help others and chose their profession accordingly. They aren’t doing it for money; they aren’t even well-payed in most developing countries. And while modern equipment made the firefighter profession much safer, firefighters are still widely regarded as the heros.

There are more controversial examples of heroes, such as heroes of war. Wars are usually two-sided zero-sum games, hence a win for the one side is a loss for another one. So, while being a hero of war requires a substantial amount of courage, frequently heroes of war can’t be heroes for society as a whole. Heros of the one side may be monsters for another one. Moreover, there are people who think that all violence is wrong, so they don’t regard warriors on both sides as heroes.

All things considered, though there are examples when not everyone can agree if the person is a hero or not, there is also a great number of living people who a regarded as heroes by modern society. They are brave, selfless people such as activists, volunteers, and Nobel Prize winners who do their best for the sake of society, and society acknowledges their heroic status.