As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Life is complex and technology is far from being able to make all decisions on behalf of humans. Therefore, I think that reliance on technology should not impair one's ability to think on your own. I will argue that the technology is mostly helpful and ultimately is improving human decision-making capability.

First of all, any technology is just a tool and it is up to us humans to determine whether and how to use it. Yes, lots of us have chosen to rely on modern technology such as search engines and knowledge bases to help us make our decisions. But these technologies are helping us to make more informed and weighted decisions. Easy access to information makes it simpler to do quick research on any topic rather than rely on intuition. Therefore, this kind of technology became a useful tool under our belts, it replaced older ways of doing the same things, such as looking things up in paper books. The technology provided us with faster access to information, which, in fact, improved our decision-making capability.

The internet opened the way for all kinds of people to express their opinion. And this led to a problem: if you are looking for people that support your decision, you will likely find them. And it is increasingly easier to get stuck within the information bubble, where you surround yourself with people who think just like you. You start hearing only one side of the story, there is no alternative opinion in your communication circle. So, in this way relying on technology, relying on other people's opinions, can impair the ability of some people to think for themselves.

However, there is another side to this argument: it also becomes increasingly easier to find an alternative opinion if you search for it, and being exposed to an alternative opinion improves your critical thinking and decision-making. Thus, people who did think for themselves can do so even better with modern technologies.

In conclusion, relying on technology is not necessarily a good thing for decision-making, but technology can provide some great tools for anyone who knows how to use it. Therefore, instead of fearing technological progress, we should improve ourselves and our education system to teach more people how to use modern technology in beneficial way.