Weather and local news programs

The author concludes that going back to the previous state of broadcasting will help to attract more audiences and more advertisers. In making this conclusion, the author assumes that reducing the time for weather and local news is the only reason that provokes the audiences to complain and the advertisers to cancel their contract with the television station.

First of all, it may not be the reduced time of weather and local news program the audiences are complaining about, rather it may be the diminished quality of the weather and local news program. Usually, audiences favor the quality of a program and if the quality decline they tend to grumble. Therefore, increasing the time of that particular news will not help to attract more audience. If this is true, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, the author thinks that the local advertisers cancelled their contract because of the reduction in time of weather and news. But it may not be true, it may be that those particular advertisers had made a loss in their business, thereby unable to pay for advertising. Hence, they cancelled their contract. Therefore, there is no relation between the cancellation of contracts and the reduction of that program time. And this fact is nothing but weakening the author's argument.

Finally, the author assumes that audiences' desire to view any show remains the same over the year. It may also be false. It is very likely that audiences don't want to watch the entire weather and local news, rather they might be inclined to watch national and international news. This might be the reason for their complaints. Therefore the television station needs to judge the choice of their audiences. Therefore, it contradicts and weakens the author's argument.

To sum up, it is very clear that the arguments in the prompts are flawed. More information is needed to strengthen the author's stance.