It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I mostly agree that we could define ourselves by social groups that define the value of identity is mostly feasible, except for some nations without freedom of speech.

When people seek for identification, they have to ask for social groups for help. Because the identification comes from the speech of major people directly, not defined by awareness of oneself. For example, if major people don’t recognize the identity defined by oneself, it means one’s self-definition could be meaningless in practice. For example, years ago, in Taiwan, the whole society is loath to recognize Lesbians and gays as acceptable identities, people have never accepted the value defined by themselves until recently. However, nowadays, because the diversity of the identification has changed to liberal and promoted by the government, one type of social group, Taiwan becomes a first nation that recognizes the legality of the mono-sex marriage. Therefore, social groups absolutely equip a function of defining identification.

Furthermore, some minority groups are consolidating together and provide an impact on the society for defining new identities in society. For instance, the aboriginals in Taiwan have been marginalized a long time until recently. There are fourteen groups of native Taiwanese and live in the far away mountain in Taiwan. By the effort of these social groups, their identities have been escalating emphasized in Taiwan. There are two ways of them to promote their influence to redefine their identities, one is that they have united together and propagate the beauty of the aboriginal culture and the other key factor is a lot of flourishing singers from them. Eventually, they have gained much recognition and reputation in Taiwan.

The naysayers may argue that social groups could not help in some circumstances, like minority rights and those living below the poverty line. Of course, it is true that there are some special cases where people are not allowed to define themselves. For example, in North Korea, the dictator Kim Jong Un has the power to control people either physically or mentally. In other words, people in North Korea could define their identification or recognition by the social group. Because that nation doesn’t allow the freedom of speech which obviously a major source of defining recognition, people couldn’t speak for themselves, not to mention defining themselves.

In conclusion, few cases couldn’t accomplish their identification by an acceleration of social groups and the reasons are listed as major dominance of the speech, the power of self-definition and freedom of speech.