A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I believe that a nation should encourage all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, but not force them to do it. Since not all students have talent or interest in academy, some of them prefer vocational courses to academic courses.

The same national curriculum helps students explore their interest and give a comprehensively basic knowledge before college. For instance, in Taiwan, before college, there are three years in a row of senior high school courses and every high school students have to take all kinds of courses, like literature, math, physics, chemistry and biology in the first year. The material covers wide range, but basic knowledge. Starting from 2nd year, pupils have to decide which separation they could like to join, like literature, engineering and medicine specific group. Therefore, students could have opportunities to investigate all majors in their first year and then decide in 2nd year. This help students clarify their interest and assess the next step before entering college as well.

The naysayers may argue that the cost is high for every school to execute the same nation curriculum. Indeed, the cost of the implementation is relatively high, because every school has to recruit counterpart faculties and prepare the material as well. Some small school may not be able to carry out the policy. In rural area, some high-school has only 30 students per year, they are barely to perform the same curriculum as other schools in urban area. Still, the condition could be improved by collaborating with other schools. For instance, this literature school could collaborate with engineering school and provide the comprehensive courses as a whole. As a result, the strategy could help schools with insufficient resource to carry out the policy.

Not all of students are apt to participate the same courses, even before college. For those who are not interested in academic, they probably have the clear target of what they want to at very early stage. Or they have talent in non-academic field. To be more specific, some students like to fix cars or do hair cutting. For instance, In Taiwan, there are some vocational schools which are appropriate for these students to join. The vocational schools are beneficial to students, because they could help students develop skills that could applied to jobs directly. Consequently, they could make contribution to the society after graduation.

In conclusion, the government should encourage students to participate the same national curriculum, not force them to do it. In the meanwhile, schools could collaborate together to perform adequate resource and material. And the government should offer vocational schools as other options for those who are likely to go to vocational field.