It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue that is raised in the prompt is that humans define themselves through their personal relationships. While personal relationships play a major role in the development of humas characteristics and traits it is also true that broader groups significantly influence their personalities and behaviors. After exploring all the facets of the issue, I firmly believe that the groups that humans are part of shape and define their identity. There are several reasons that prop this view and make the other untenable.

The chief reason of my view is that social groups that humans join during their life influence in the greatest extend the development of their personality. For instance, the very first group that a human join is its family. Family is the first milestone in this process. Children’s personality reflects the education and morals that have been taught from their family. The unconditional love and care that a child has received from its family will greatly affect his/her trajectory in life.

Another compelling reason why this stance may be valid is that humans have the tendency to mimic behaviors that are acceptable by the majority. Does not this necessarily mean that humans only absorb the positive characteristics of these behaviors. However, this is scientifically proven by psychologists and it is called the “bystander effect”. In particularly it is more possible that a human will assimilate characteristics and behaviors of the norm just because this is internally tuned from our nature.

Some will argue that only personal interactions with individuals shape the personality and identity of a human. However, this argument overlooks that rarely individuals act on their own base. There are numerous factors that influence their actions and behaviors. Economic, religious, and political reasons may greatly influence their perception and view of thigs.

To sum up, the broader groups that a member is part of affect the identity, actions and behaviors of a human.