Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

There is a saying that compromise is the best and cheapest lawyer. While law is inflexible by nature to check the unruly nature of people dwelling in a community, sometimes it should be less rigid or yielding. I mostly agree with the prompt that law should be flexible enough depending on the circumstances, times and places for three reasons.

First of all, though laws are being made for the wellbeing of people and maintaining the harmony in a society and country, it should take account the circumstances and the premise on which the aberration is being occurred. For example, we all know that murder is the most inhuman acts and crime that should be punished at highest level. In most of the case murder is given death sentence. However, if the case is of self-protection then laws should account the circumstances. If any black sheep attempt to do rape and the victim accident murders the attacker to protect herself then it should not regard as same category crime and laws should be enough flexible in this regard. If laws don’t show any empathy to the victim, then then it is not maintaining it’s commitment.

Secondly society composed of different age group and different classes of people. All are not of equal insight, education and moral sense. Before implementing any law, legislator should take all these account. Suppose an adolescent of remote area who does not get any kind of ethical lesson and he is being convicted with a theft incidence. Then laws should take account his overall circumstances before punishing.

Thirdly, crimes and perceptions of moral thinking are not constant over time. In one time an act might be required for that time shake, for greater interest but at later the same act might be regarded as heinous. Moreover, an act is regarded legal for one country at the same time that can be considered as illicit depending on whose favor the act is working. In 1971, during liberation war between Bangladesh and Pakistan, the act of Pakistan is world widely criticized and abhorred. Pakistani army occurred mass genocides in Bangladesh. But this same act is not that much abhorred and illicit for Pakistani populace. So before enforcement laws should take account several factors.

Some may argue that laws should be always rigid enough to reduce the crime and unruly act and it’s inevitable for a country to maintain the country with proper dignity. Laws should not spare anyone because laws are meant to be broken and it’s believed by many people. However, in my opinion laws should be flexible enough in some circumstances, place and time, otherwise it will not bring any significant blessings for the community.