Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

While boredom is very natural human psyche may arise from many sources and often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, many claim that it should be regarded as the source of embarrassment. This perception doesn’t hold water in every cases and I mostly disagree with the claim for three reasons.

Firstly, the claim is stating that lack of imagination and self-motivation are the main reasons of ennui. These reasoning may hold true in some particular cases because most of the aimless people play the victim role of boredom. Unlike this boredom may also arise from lack of exciting work or work which drains the worker. Most of the cases, person’s work does not happen as per his choice. Let’s take an example of work of computer scientist who is fond of arts and literature and adventure. He loves to imagine his life as an artist, bard or simply nomadic but he cannot follow his passion because he must continue the seemingly boring programming for his high standard living. Will it be very unnatural for him to feel bored in this periphery? Obviously not. Here lack of self- motivation and creativity cannot justify the sense of boredom but lack of opportunity of pleasure in work. Here boredom should not be source of embarrassment.

In contrast to the claim, we can show the activity of a physicist. A physicist must be creative and must have profound imaginative power to glean idea about the physical world and also the world beyond our sight. He need not only to explain these theoretically but also need to prove those theories through real life experiment. In this circumstance, failure is an inseparable part. If the physicist fails in experiment, he must feel bored and unenthusiastic. In this scenario, boredom is not an embarrassing feeling, rather it should be overcome.

Additionally, not only in the life of people of specialized field but also in ordinary people’s life boredom may appear and resurgence at any time. Sometimes we can account the pedestrian thinking and motionless life style as the reasons of boredom for layman and it’s really embarrassing. But it does not represent the true scenario always. Any persons can suffer from boredom due to his or her surrounding environment, behavior of the people in his or her circle. Oftentimes people feel bored for no reason. For example, if one person become ostracized from social life and he has no one to talk to him, then he will feel depressed and bored naturally. He should not be embarrassed and society should help him to return the tide of life. From these evidence it can be stated that boredom is a natural feeling intrigued by different factors, always not by lack of creativity and motivation and should not be indicated always as the source of embarrassment.