Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are necessary in a country to maintain peace and justice. They need to be fair so that a person who has done a crime should be punished. The prompt here recommends that laws should be created to take into account of the possibility of several circumstances, time and places. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the suggestion and argue that laws must not be rigid and must be able to include multiple scenarios or possibilities so that there will be fairness in the society. The below two paragraphs will cast light on my personal perspective with an apt example.

To begin with, if laws are flexible then they will be able to help to draw a conclusion out of any case. To illustrate, let us look at the example of situation where a person was seen a min ago with the victim by the witness before the mishap happened. The person who is accused claims that after seeing his friend he left towards his apartment and did not hurt the victim. In this case even though the witness has seen that person does not mean that he is the criminal. It is highly possible that the person left towards his flat without doing anything and the proof can be presented.

Secondly, if the laws are flexible then they will help to provide justice to a person/authority. Consider the example of a woman who has been suffering from domestic violence by her husband. The man claims with a proof that he has not been practicing violence on his wife and request to declare him innocent. However, there is chance that in some other times or scenario where he could have been caught beating his wife and hence is accused of crime.

Of course, some people think that laws must be rigid and firm so that it will be easy to handle a case. Also, people can manipulate and find loop holes to come avoid getting accused of a crime. In my opinion, if the laws are not adjustable or cooperative then they will not be able to take into various possibilities of providing justice and drawing a conclusion.