Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Laws set the values and regulations of a nation. It is not uncommon that people tend to find loopholes in laws and get away with many improper actions. So laws by nature being stringent is more apt. However , the prompt suggests that laws should be flexible while considering different situations and different cases. In my opinion , I mostly agree with this recommendation for two reasons.

Life doesn't only consist of right and wrong actions. Anything that doesn't fall under the conditions of being right doesn't make it an action a wrong one. There are many circumstances --gray area-- in life. For instance , When observed from an independent point of view , hitting someone , being violent goes against the law. But when circumstances are brought into perspective for example in case , where a women a pedestrian is attacked by a gang of robbers who are trying to snatch away her belongings . It seems absurd to think abou the law in that situation , let alone abide by it. In that situation , the only thought appropriate for such a situation would be self defense than just abiding by law and stay completely silent. Thus , when circumstances , time and places are brought into account while judging an action , the action can be more rightly judged. This example rightly justifies the suggestion made by the prompt.

Furthermore, Society and times are ever changing. One decades right action cannot be justified in another decade. Such changing time is what provokes amendments in law. If laws are not flexible enough to take into account the perspective of ever changing societies , it will only bring chaos and increase the crime rate. If we take into account the laws that prevailed in the 1800s , it would not be a proper fit for the current society. For instance , slavery laws that existed during the 1700s-1800s , if time , place and circumstances were not taken into account ,there may have never been amendments of such laws.

However , I do concede that in cases of some egregious crimes, laws should be exacting, Otherwise people tend to find loopholes in them and abuse the loopholes. For example, someone who belongs to a minority group / race might take advantage of the law being flexible and considering towards the circumstances of the minor and get away with their crimes. Government should try to consider past cases where people tried to take advantage of loopholes in laws and continuosly improve the structure of the constitution for such cases.

In other words, laws should be tractable enough to consider all circumstances of a person while judging their action but at the same time , the structure and outline of the laws should be free from any inconsistency, a person might take advantage of.