Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are made to maintain the harmony in a society. Nations continuously work on devising new laws, keeping in mind the changing times. Many laws have been seen to be altered because of their extreme rigidness, which instead to creating harmony, disrupts it. The prompt suggests that laws must be supple to take in to account time, place and circumstances. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompt for mainly 3 reasons.

Firstly, Laws helps in keeping the citizens in check and promotes for a augmentation of a just society. But there is a catch to it. Laws must not be objectively structured, instead it should be subjective to provinces in a nation. Different regions of a country do not have a shared set of issues to be dealt with. For instance, In Delhi, India the law is imposed for driving cars with even number plate on specific days while cars with odd number plate on other days. This is imposed due to the heavy production of pollution in the capital city. But this same law cannot be imposed in Mumbai (another city in India) since it is not under a similar circumstance. Therefore, a law must be flexible in order to cater to a particular circumstance more thoroughly

Secondly, history has seen that difficult times always challange the strictness of a law. To illustrate this, consider a state with breakout of riots to a servile degree. In such a scenario a rigid will only exacerbate the situation. Already a state is in a very vulnerable position and the exigent nature of the law will make the protestor even more effront and leading to an difficult situation slipping out of hand. Therefore, a law must take in to consideration such extreme conditions and be easy to be molded according to the times.

Thirdly, a law has to be latitudenally and longitudenally flexible. A nation constitues different region with different geographical features. Therefore to objectify a law keeping in mind only one region is not pragmatic. For example, in a normal city with no perilious terrain, any car is permitted for driving. But this same can't be true for other regions. For a mountainous region, a 4 by 4 engine car and fog light must be manditory. If here the law is not flexible enough then the nation is on the very of experiencing many unwanted news on a daily basis.

Although some might suggest that the law must be same and rigid irrespective of other factors to be just, everything in this world has exceptions. It sounds true that a rigid law will corroborate justice and harmony but when faced with deviant circumstances these just,rigid and inflexible laws will in turn do the opposite of what it was designed to in the first place. Thus to avoid this, a law must be flexible depending on various factors.