The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

In the memo, the director of a large group of hospitals draws the conclusion that the new UltraClean hand soap with a concentrated solution that provides extra strength should be used at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout the hospital system. He draws this conclusion on the basis that this new hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria and also during a recent test showed that the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection. However, for us to determine if this is in fact the right conclusion to be drawn from these observations we must answer these three questions first.

First of all, we cannot really rely on the result observed in a single hospital. It is a very small data set to determine or conclude that this in fact reduces the number of infections caused to the patients. We must also consider the fact that it is very likely that the observations were tinkered with to promote this handwash for commercial benefits. Not to mention, as in any study we must do a lot of experimentation first before concluding that something is viable. For instance, it could be the case that this hand soap shows the opposite results when used in some other hospitals. If this is the case then the soap could do more harm than good to the hospitals and their patients. Also, if this turns out to be true then the conclusion drawn by the director does not hold water.

Secondly, we haven't been provided any information on any side effects of this new hand soap solution to the people using it. As is generally the case a coin has two sides, the soap with increased concentration could damage the skin of the doctors and the people using this soap when they visit the hospital. For example, the hand soap may show a reduced number of infections spread and but who knows how this would affect the skin of the people using it on a regular basis over a period of time. It is imperative that we test this concentrated hand soap first on many different people and record if it has any harmful effects on the users. This is a fact that if it turns out to be true then we cannot confidently say that this is truly a reliable new alternative handwash.

Finally, we have not been given any numbers on how many infections spread to the patients on a normal basis. It is very likely that the number is very small like say 10 every 2 months, then a 20 percent decrease is just 8 people getting infected every two months. If we think about it, it is not that much, we could say that this soap is very effective if the number of infections spreading was very great in number. So, in order for us to conclude that yes it is a necessity at the moment as the number of infections spreading is high, we can surely consider the suggestion given by the director of the group of hospitals.

The argument that we must use this newly developed liquid hand soap in all the hospitals at all hand-washing stations including those used by the visitors as it stands now is flawed. If we want to firmly conclude that yes this idea is valid it must be able to answer the questions that have been stated above. Also, if we want to effectively evaluate this argument we must be provided with more evidence that can help us come to a more valid solution