The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I mostly believe that people could learn lesson and dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times by studying history.

Firstly, one of the most advantageous point that people could learn from history is preventing from making the same mistake again. As known, the greedy nature of human never stop as time pass by. For instance, China have five-thousand history and there are more than ten dynasties of it. The history tells us that the power and money eroded the mind of the king of the nation and then the government corrupted and collapsed because the centralized politic system has been prevailed since then. If a leader or president studies the history, then he or she could that people have not changed and they are not different between now and past.

Secondly, people never learn that peace is the most crucial thing. Even some counties become developed and enlightened, some still attack other nations. For example, the World War I and World War II. Many people suffered and died in the wars, but it still happened.

The naysayers may argue that the background is quite different between now and past. Based on the disparate context, some points that happened in the past could not apply to the situation today. Of course, the information explosion by technology advancement today makes information much more accessible than it was years ago. People don't need to go to libraries that was only available in the capital city years ago, but rather study online at home. Another example is that the benefit of trading across nation is less significant today than it was before. Because the transportation is much more convenient and accordingly increases accessibility and degrade the profit due to supply boosted. Before industrialization, companies trade with boats taking several months conveying goods from China to Europe. In contrast, it only takes one day flight for the same route. Thus, these cases show that something did change and the difference is conspicuous between before and now.

In conclusion, people could benefit by studying from history except the background changed due to technology evolution based on the reasons mentioned above.