Many of the world's lesser-known languages are being lost as fewer and fewer people speak them. The governments of countries in which these languages are spoken should act to prevent such language from becoming extinct.

According to the speaker government should act to prevent the languages of their country as they are being lost. I agree insofar with the speaker's view as the government play a huge role in preserving the languages, culture and tradition of the country. However, is only effort of government sufficient to preserve such languages? Don't the people residing in the country have some responsibility towards it?

Admittedly, government can make the use of their national language by adding them in national curriculum until the school level which helps the children to understand their own language. Also the government can imply rules such as using their own native languages in official work. Along with the effort of government, the locals living in the country can play a vital role for preserving their language. While communicating at home they can use such language; can teach their children about the importance of own language and customs as these are the thing that reflects the country's identity. As a paradigm, we can take the Newar community of Kathmandu valley. Although they use nepali or english language to communicate at school and other places, they use their own newari language at home. This culture has not only helped to preserve their language but also have increased the feeling of oneness in them.

We cannot deny the fact that to sustain in the outer world, nowadays it has become a compulsion to learn the much speaking language such as English, French, Spanish and others. Due to the increased competition and to become more efficient, people have started using other language rather than their own. However, although these language are necessary for one to become successful, yet people can learn and use their own native language inside their own country inorder to preserve them.

Owing all these, i individually feel that although the government can act to make the language becoming extant, it is also the responsibility of the local people to preserve and use their own language as they are the one who can truly save the language from becoming extinct.