On Balmer Island , where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of moped rented by the islands moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville;s town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

The writer above claims that reducing the number of moped rentals by 50 percent per day also would decrease the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians by 50 percent. Although the evidences provided by the writer bolster the argument, however after analyzing the certain details, the claim made by the writer seems ambiguous. Firstly,the writer had not clearly stated the cause of accidents; Secondly, he provided an example of neighboring island of Seaville to strengthen his conclusion but he did not do proper research if the island of Seaville had taken any other precaution measure to control the number of accidents than only by limiting the number of moped rentals.

The writer in the letter says that the number of accidents were increased in the summer due to the increased number of moped rentals but he failed to identify the proper cause of accidents. The road condition, other form of transportation that had been used in the island, carelessness of the drivers or the pedestrians themselves also might be the reason behind the cause of accidents about which the writer failed to explain.

Although the writer gave a quitensence of island of Seaville where the number of accidents were reduced by reducing the number of moped rentals, however he failed to do research on other precaution measure that the island of Seaville had followed to limit the accidents. Not only the island of Seaville might have limited the number of moped rentals but they also might have maintained the road condition or decreased the number of other form of transportation also. Similarly, the physical land structure, moped drivers of both the island might be different and thus to expect the same result as that of island of Seaville would be just hypothetical.

The writer should do further research on the possible causes of accidents and also about the similarity of nature of accidents on island of Seaville and Island of Balmer, or-else without any complete research he cannot make me support his argument of limiting the numer of moped rentals to limit the number of accidents.