Most culture encourage individuals to sacrifice a large part of their own personalities in order to be like other people. Thus, most people are afraid to think or behave differently because they do not want to be excluded.

According to the speaker, most people are afraid to be themselves and think of their own because of the fear of being excluded from their culture. The speaker here asserts two claims: i) Many of the culture encourage their followers to sacrifice their own personalities to be like the other people ii) Many people, because of the fear of being excluded from the culture, do not behave differently. I insofar agree with the claim made by the first position as every culture have certain rules and regulations which their followers need to follow.

Every cultures are based on certain kinds of beliefs and tradition, and breaking these beliefs and tradition by any means refers to the disrespect of those culture which may bring conflict among the people. As a paragon, Bhramins caste are not allowed to eat beef; Cows are worshiped as Goddess Laxmi and is considered as a epitome of mother. Consuming beefs means eating meat of own mother in the culture of Bhramins. Another instances can be taken from the Muslims people, who are not allowed to consume alcohol. Consuming alcohol is taken as sin in their culture. People born in these cultures have the mindset that if they do not obey the rules of their culture or act opposite to them, something bad may happen. Although people are educated and even the science do not have any facts related to these, people still fear to go against the norms of culture and end up sacrificing their own personalities.

However, there are some people who do not fear of being excluded from the culture. People are more educated nowadays and have started knowing the different aspects and part of the cultural beliefs. They are able to distinguish the preternatural beliefs and are not readily agree to accept them. As an instance, In Newar community of Kathmanu valley, it was not allowed to marry outside their caste and whoever tries to break this rule would be excluded from their Guthi( A community of Newar people), and they were not allowed to perfom any rituals belonging to their culture. Yet, there were lots of people who married outside their caste. So, even though the culture implants the fear of being excluded if people behave differently, it is upon the people what they want to do. Thus culture should not be solely blamed for encouraging people to sacrifice their own thinking and personalities.