Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

I agree with the statement that the internet has caused the people's attention span to get shorter. While watching television or surfing in the internet, people tend to move from one content to another in a second with the click in their mobile or in television remote. With the increasing content in the media and internet, individual can watch any sort of content they want or they are interested in. The mass media make it easy for the people to understand different sort of things all around the glove staying in one corner of a nation. But I did not agree with the statement that it has positive effect on the individual as it has make people less attentive and reducing the people ability to focus.

Before the social media, people used to come together discuss about the family matter have a family dinner together which make the people more social and understanding. People used to focus on one thing that requires the most attention and try to solve the issue, they were more attentive and more social. They used to discuss problem with their family and try to solve together.

With the emergence of the mass media and the internet, people has become distant than ever. Children, parents, and every other individual are more invested in the social media then their own family. Though one can get whatever information they want from the internet, people are becoming more lazy and dumb then ever. Instead of being more invested in the creative work that help to flourish the individual knowledge, they are becoming more lazy and wasting their time in useless things.

People are losing their ability to focus on one thing as their are a lot of other options in internet. If they get bored in one thing they are watching or looking after, they shift to another content which might be more interesting than the first one. So they end of learning only the surface of different content and never get into the deep of those things. This behavior can also be seen in the people job. They are never satisfied with the job and end up working in different job and not focus on one good job.

Finally i like to point the fact that event though there is huge possibility of getting success with the use of mass media and internet but it has slowly becoming the bane of the human kind. I do not support the statement mass media has overall positive effect as it is making people less attentive and more distant.