Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue of the inherent physical differences between men and women affecting their suitability for different tasks is a complex topic. Although the biological differences in the physique of a man and a woman are apparent, the historical achievements by women in various fields during the past decades have proven the differences to be insignificant. Thus, it might not be valid to assume a certain task to be more suited for a particular gender.

Traditional jobs such as mechanical engineers, factory workers, farmers, etc., require a lot of physical strength and stamina. Therefore, such tasks were assumed to be more suited for men. Yet, there have been several examples where women workers excelled in accomplishing the goals.

During the second world war, many women workers joined factories in order to increase productivity during the critical period. Female astronauts such as Sunita Williams and Kalpana Chawla have proved that women can endure intense physical training that is required for the job. The number of female soldiers in the military has increased significantly in the past few years. The performances by female athletes are often on par with that of male players.

Hence, the aspect of training is critical for any job. If a man does not train physically, he might not be able to reach a level that is necessary for the tasks. Thus, with persistent efforts and training, the inherent physical strength of men and women can be leveled.

The mental capabilities of men and women are often comparable. Mary Curie, a noble prize winner in Chemistry, is a really good example of the same. The number of women researchers is almost the same as male researchers in various fields.

The number of men employees in the fields which were traditionally accepted for women has increased a lot. There are many male babysitters, tailors, home care service workers around the globe.

Thus, the assumption that men and women are not equally suitable for many tasks because of the inherent physical differences might not be valid.