Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The given argument compares the cost and the risk involved in the manned and unmanned space probe missions. The author concludes the unmanned missions are more economical and sustainable with respect to manned space missions. Yet, the author seems to commit several flaws such as the direct comparison between both kinds of missions, ignoring the necessity of both programs, and unclear data representation.

The manned and unmanned missions are compared directly on the basis of cost and risk involved in the tasks. Yet, it might not be the best way to compare as the human involvement in the manned missions implicitely increases the cost and the risk. Hence, the both manned and unmanned space missions are fundamentally different. Thus, it might not be a good approach to compare them in a direct manner.

Moreover, the author is assuming the data gathered by the manned and unmanned space programs to be the same. This assumption is flawed as the objectives of a manned mission is often completely different from an unmanned mission. The astronauts are assigned the job of repairing and maintenance of the space stations and satellites. Many times, the effect of space exploration on a human body is also studied through manned space programs. On the other hand, the satellites are more useful for exploration and gathering data about the celestial objects.

The author states that sending satellites into space is more economical and less risky compared to sending men and women into space. Yet, the data for the comparison is not presented and thus, the author's assumption seems to be too strong without any valid evidence.

In conclusion, the assumptions by the author regarding the validity of comparing both space programs, the objectives of both the missions being the same and the unmanned space program being more economical, are flawed. The conclusion by the author might not remain valid once the flaws are corrected.