more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I partly agree with this statement as it holds true on some occasions while it isn't necessarily true in other circumstances. Whether the acquisition of knowledge renders things more mysterious or comprehensible depends on which stage of studying the learners are at.

For beginners, the accumulation of knowledge undoubtedly enable them to understand things more easily whereas it is not the case for advanced learners. Novices of all fields of study are ignorant of the basic concepts, rules, and mechanisms of how things work in the fields. To them, things in the new field are all opaque terminologies and complex phenomenon that take place out of nowhere. By acquiring knowledge, novices grasp the basic concepts of terminologies and the general mechanisms through which the seemingly mysterious phenomenon appears. As a result, they find this new field of study increasingly understandable.

However, as learners attain a considerable advancement in their fields, they become increasingly sensible to the mysteries of their fields. Unlike novices, advanced learners have not only acquired the basic framework of their fields, but also the sophisticated details underlying the framework. For example, beginners of the English literature may start by learning the predominant school of thoughts in each generation, while advanced learners delve into each generation, studying the ideas of each intellectual in each era. It is this increasing accumulation of knowledge related to details that makes advanced learners more sensible to the nuances of their fields, thereby making them more likely to detect mysteries in their fields. For instance, beginners of American literature may start by comprehending the literal meanings of a poem of Whitman and find the poem increasingly understandable as they acquire new words and grammatical rules of English. By contrast, advanced learners, with their sophisticated knowledge of English language and Whitman's ideas, are able to detect the ambiguities in Whitman's seemingly simple choice of words. For them, the more they delve into Whitman's poetry, the more confused they become.

In conclusion, novices find their fields of study increasingly comprehensible as they acquire knowledge. By contrast, when they attain certain level of advancement and is able to detect the nuances in their fields, accumulation of knowledge gives rise to confusion.