A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss to which extent you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I find this recommendation mostly unreasonable. Differing conditions of regions require the schools to have curriculum designed specially for their own conditions.

Admittedly, a national curriculum may effectively mitigate the problem of inequality given that the courses are effectively taught to students in all regions. Nowadays, an increasingly widening gap can be seen in the K-12 education across the regions. Students in more developed regions have access to a more advanced level of school subjects, learning advanced math and literary theories in high schools while students from disadvantaged can only learn basic levels of those subjects. When all students go to universities, students with disadvantaged background may feel overwhelmed by how their peers from big cities have such mastery of mathematics and literary concepts and skills that they've barely heard of. Due to that educational gap in K-12 education, many students from disadvantaged backgrounds fall behind their peers even when they make it to universities with their extraordinarily great efforts. If a national curriculum is provided to all students, students from all regions are learning subjects with the same levels of difficulties. Provided the subject are taught in the same effective manner, the educational gap in K-12 educaiton may be mitigated.

Nevertheless, given the varying economic conditions and human resources of different regions, it is quite unlikely that a national curriculum can be effectively implemented in all regions. In most cases, nationally shared curriculum may widen the educational gap as students in disadvantaged regions fail to adapt to the curriculum due to lack of devices of faculty. The effects of education are decided not only by curriculum design, but also by the competence of teachers to deliver the knowledge as well as students' capabilities to receive the knowledge. When a national curriculum is provided, if the curriculum is designed to be more in line with the level of advantaged cities, disadvantaged regions may lack devices and faculty to implement the curriculum even when they have access to those advanced curriculum designs. For example, in a literature course, a workshop may be signed to cultivates students' critical thinking abilities and their engagement with literary theories. The design itself may be out of good intention, yet to organize a productive workshop requires teachers themselved to have a profound understanding fo those literary theories. It the teachers themselves can not really grasp those theories, it is very unlikely that students from disadvantaged regions can learn as much as students form developed regions from such a workshop. Even worse, those students may be more and more buffled by a curriculum design that does not fit their own conditions.

In addition, a national curriculum may overlook ethnicity differences in its design, potentially hindering the preservation of the cultures of ethnic minorities. As a national curriculum is usually designed by the most prestige educators in the country, which are, in most case from the upper class of a country and stand for the majority of the country, the culture of ethnic minority may be underrepresented in the course designs. Therefore, it may be better for all regions to design their own curriculum in which the cultures of all ethnic groups are celebrated.

In conclusion, considering the regional differences, I think it is more reasonable for each region to design their own courses.