Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I agree with this proposal, though I have some concerns about how to decide whether the cause of the endangerment is cansed by human activities.

This idea is reasonable, as it proposes a more efficience way of allocating resouces to protect species. Everyday, there are numerous species facing the danger of reducing numbers or even extinction. Saving these species requires an appallingly large number of resources. Extensive research should be done on finding the exact causes of the endangerment of a species and designing the most effective way to tackle those causes. The implementation of those solutions take even more resources: if the endanger ment is caused by proaching, big amount of recruitment is needed to prevent proaching; if it is caused by reduced habitats, the restoration of habitats should take years of hardwork by scientists and workers; if pollution is the underlying cause, it would take numerous pieces of expensive equipments for the processing of industrial wastes to make the wastes harmless for the endangered species. Standing in stark contrast with the surging need for resouces by animal protection is the limited human resources. Considering this sharp contrast, we should prioritize saving species that most need saving, which are species endangered by human activities.

Why should species endangered by human activities be prioritized? By saving these species first, we can most efficiently attain the ultimate goal of animal protection: to ensure the sustainability of human life, and by extension, the sustainability of the whole ecosystem. To be precise, the two goals are ultimately in line with each other, as the maintainance of human society requires a stable and healthy ecosystem. The ecosystem is so sophisticated, and the existance of all species are so intricately dependent on the existance of other species, predators are dependent on the existence of preys, while preys need the predators to limit the numbers of their species to a moderate amount so that their species won’t consume all the resources in their environment. Due to the interdependent nature of the ecosystem, the extinction of a species may lead to the disruption of an ecosystem, ultimately threating the lives of human beings. Nevertheless, not all species’ extinction will lead to the disruption of the ecosystem: only extinctions caused by human activities will. Species endangerment not caused by human activities are the result of natural selectioins: these species are endangered because they cannot adapt to the gradually changing ecosystem. When these species extincted, their roles in the ecosystem would have already been replaced by other species. Therefore, their extinction won’t cause any disruption to the existance of other species, not to mention the human society. Only human beings, with their powerful technology, can eliminate the existance of a species so quickly, that the ecosystem has no time to adapt to the loss of this species. Therefore, by prioritizing saving species endandered by human activies, we are sustaining the ecosystem in the most efficient way.

However, one undesirable consequence may appear as we adopt this policy: we may overlook species endangerment caused indirectly by human beings. Due to the intricacy of the ecosystem, it is very hard to determine whether the endangerment of a species is caused by human beings or not. Some species may seem to have reduced in number not because of direct human influences such as proaching or human invation of habitats. Nevertheless, they may be endangered because the species they prey on are endangered because of human activities. In addition, some species may be endangered by pollution, yet the source of pollution is undetected. In this case, the endangerment of this species may be deemed unrelated to human activities. If we overlook species that are endangered indirectly by human activities, the implementation of this proposal may pose a great threat on the sustainability of the ecosystem.

In conclusion, while I have concerns regarding how to identify species that are endangered by human beings, this proposal can, in general, most efficiently protect the sustainability of the ecosystem.