Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I am more inclined to the former view. While some types of formal education may restrain students’ minds, education, in general, still promotes rather than hinders the liberation of minds.

The purpose of education is the liberation of minds and spirits because education, regardless of its form, broadens the views of individuals, and broadens horizons, empowering the minds to think freely. When students receive education, no matter it is through an encyclopedia brought by their parents, or a class given by teachers at schools, they learn new things outside of the small space around them. By seeing things outside of their immediate environment, individuals are inspired to think out of their old mindsets thereby freeing their thoughts. For example, a girl living in a small village in rural China may have learned from her immediate environment that girls are only expected to be good wives and mothers, yet by reading the stories of Mother Teresa and other great women in history from school, she would realize that there’s more than one way of living for females. The girl, therefore, would learn to think outside of her gender stereotypes. Some may argue that there are forms of education that restrain rather than expose individuals to new knowledge, thereby constraining their thoughts. For example, some totalitarian governments may design education by deleting certain historical facts or even distorting some historical events to legitimize their reign of the countries. The individuals who receive this type of education may end up having a restricted mindset that blindly supports the propaganda of the government. However, this type of “education” betrays the essence of education, as education, by its definition, should introduce individuals to truths rather than lies, and should enlighten rather than blind individuals. Therefore, this type of false education should be more appropriately termed “brainwashing”, instead of education.

Some may argue even if education aims at enlightening individuals, it still tends to constrain individuals’ minds when it becomes formal. This argument holds true only in a limited scope of circumstances because this argument is reasonable only if it refers to a rigid type of formal education. The rigid type of education refers to the type of education with rigid forms of instructions and evaluations. In this form of education, students are regarded as passive receivers of instructions given by teachers and are not expected to raise questions. Correspondingly, this type of education evaluates students based on how much students absorb the ideas of teachers. This form of education is essentially a process of recitation and repetition and undoubtedly is not conducive to the independent thinking of students. However, there are various forms of formal education, and only a limited number of them are as rigid as is described above. School education nowadays is becoming increasingly encouraging to students’ innovative thinking. Many courses contain multiple chances of discussions, where students share their reflections on the course materials and teachers’ instructions. Some courses even take the form of flipped courses, which means students read the course material at home, and discuss them in class. In this way, the students not just passively receive the knowledge, but also actively take part in the construction of knowledge. This type of formal education undoubtedly enables students to think outside the box.

To sum up, since education entails the acquisition of knowledge, it inevitably leads to the liberalization of minds. While there are certain forms of education that constrain individuals’ thoughts, such types of education take an increasingly limited part of formal education, as formal education nowadays includes more and more discussions between students. Therefore, I believe formal education, in both its purpose and effect, liberates, rather than constrains the minds.