Most cultures encourage individuals to sacrifice a large part of their own personalities in order

to be like other people. Thus, most people are afraid to think or behave differently because

they do not want to be excluded.

The speaker claims about the conformity at the expense of individuality on the first prong and in the second prong he states the reason behind it. People inherently nurture a fear of not getting excluded from the society they dwell in. So, stay accord with the society they imitate others to live and most of the time give up their own prevailing nature of lifestyles- such as, belief, mores, eating habit and so forth. So, I strongly support the above assertion.

To support my argument, I would like to cast some reasons with worthy examples. As, I said in the former para people have a fear of getting pariah from the society, I would like to elaborate it in my way. For instance, think about a person who lived in a remote village in UP, India has recently come Mumbai for the sake of living. In that very own village, he has his own culture of living but he is confronting with very opposite mores from the time he came to Mumbai. In Mumbai, people are much liberal and have some very own cultures to live with. That person who left his village and came to live in the huge city is now finding himself unfit with the day-to-day lifestyle of that city’s dweller. In this case, that village people will definitely let go his prevailing art of living to survive in Mumbai, otherwise, he would be remarked as ineligible.

We, the people apparently like to imitate others. A child who is growing up, is learning everything coping with the ways elders are performing. An elder one can be replaced with that growing child. A destitute, who somehow has become affluent mimics the way of living of the intrinsic affluent. That recently being rich one will purchase a luxurious home, some expensive cars, will attend many parties just to become his contemporary rich ones. He inevitably lives in a fear of getting excluded from the rich society if he doesn’t pursue a lifestyle like those riches.

Aside from the above reasons, there are some cultures, those don’t encourage people to sacrifice their own personalities. We can think about the villages in this case. A strong form of conformity can be found there. In spite of that people don’t ever tend to sacrifice their own belief, forms of living, mores. They preserve their very own diverse lifestyle while living in peace with each other.

To sum up, not all culture acts alike. People differ from culture to culture. A culture can be found where people eat every single thing, in the same-time, another culture just prohibits many of that former culture to do. To maintain the balance, people tend to stand apart from their very own personalities, though in not all cases.