The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Culture is something that is solely depended on the way people practice the element of a certain society. Since people’s long time practice represent the culture, it is plausible to observe the behavior and conduct of the mass people to amass data about a certain cultural norms. Therefore, I mostly agree with the prompt that to analyze the near most culture, observing the trends of the youths is one of the most effective ways.

Admittedly, there are certain norms and ritual those seems perpetual for a society and everyone observes and maintains those cultural traits regardless of time and age. For example, in Bangladesh people observe victory day, Independence Day and language day regardless of their age, because these occasions are very significant for every person born in Bangladesh, since these days are inextricably linked with the birth of the nation itself. Other than these, the youth have inclination for neologism and they tend to follow the latest. Therefore, it is feasible to analyze their conducts, behaviors and habits etc. to get a clear picture of the contemporary culture.

For example, usually the old and elder people tend to follow their ancient culture and traditions. For instance, it is very likely that the old people would wear native dresses because they tend to be conservative and want to preserve their own culture, whereas the youths follow the latest traditions of the world. Because of globalization and advanced technology the young people have the opportunity to be familiar with different culture and they are vulnerable to cultural penetration. Therefore, their taste of clothing may change drastically compared to their old predecessors. Consequently, a cultural trait will change for that time, which will inevitably be a part of that culture.

Another example could be driven from the eating habit, which is also a part of culture and tradition. Though some people might hardly change their taste for food, because of climate change there may be a dearth of natural and usual food in a certain area. For example, in Bangladesh people used to eat fish and rice for their daily consumption. However, because of climate change the production of fish plummeted and the young generation changed their choice of food, moreover they have a penchant for fast food. Therefore, the present trend is to eat fast food rather the usual rice and fish. Therefore, if someone wants to know the recent food consumption of Bengali people, one must acknowledge the changing patterns of food consumption by the young people.

To sum up, it can be said that, there are some cultural traits that are long lasting and those are observed by all the people of the society. However, to grasp the recent cultural trend, one should focus on the youth, because they are the forerunner who respond to the environmental and global changes that affect the culture and tradition of a society.