Most of the money devoted to basic scientific research should be instead diverted to applied scientific research

Respond to the above topic by composing an essay that states how much you agree or disagree with the given claim. Be sure to use evidence to support your stance and to consider evidence that would challenge your stance.

It is easy to assume that applied sciences should receive more funding due to its direct impact on our daily lives. However, doing so would be a short sighted as much of what is considered applied science is built on the pillars of general scientific principles which we interpret as “basic science”.

Applied scientific research provides more useful solutions to our everyday needs. Clinical trials are run to test the applications of new drugs and we focus on improving our lives by trying to find answers to problems like “how can I contact my friend more quickly” or “I need to do this process more efficiently”. By finding solutions to problems, this type of scientific research is understandable seen as highly valued. However, we must also consider what prior knowledge is needed to make these applied research projects possible and how this information was obtained.

One cannot assume applied scientific research can exist without contribution from basic scientific research. When Marie Curie discovered radiation, her main goal had not been to develop an X-Ray machine. This applied scientific concept was developed after the discovery of X-Rays. Without this initial basic scientific research, the applied forms of the radiation would not have been possible due to our lack of understanding of the process. To add to this point, it would have been interesting to see the Wright Brothers try to invent the plane without a good understanding of gravity thanks to the contributions of Isaac Newton and his basic scientific research into the laws of gravity.

Lastly, Some of the world’s best inventions were made through trial and error or discovered by accident. The man who invented rubber had not been trying to develop this particular product, however, once the material was discovered, applications for it were found. Without the freedom to conduct basic scientific research, this man would never have developed what is considered to be one of the most useful materials we use today.

From all that has been discussed, we can clearly surmise that theoretical science has been and continues to be the foundations on which the applied sciences are built. The products we develop today are dependent on our understanding of certain scientific concepts. We understand these concepts thanks to past scientists who dedicated their time and research to creating that understanding. Without basic scientific research, there is no guarantee that applied scientific research would have advanced the way it has and therefore it would be a terrible mistake to remove most funding from basic scientific research.