The best way to prepare people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation is a necessary skill in today's world. We require cooperation to maintain a fair and just environment. With only competition and an "everyone for themselves attitude", humankind would not be where it is today. Though some may argue against the value of cooperation, this author will try to address the main challenges against it and support the necessity of a cooperative environment.

Critics may challenge the belief that cooperation prepares young people for industry by directing one's attention to free trade and the competitive markets. In this model, competition is what gives momentum to industries and companies. It is what motivates competitors to out-perform eachother and provide the best prices. However, gone unchecked, these markets have shown time and time again that a world with only competition leaves room solely for those full of greed and corruption to cheat their way to unfairly earned fortunes. Wall Street and the 2008 crisis are a perfect demonstration of this corruption. Through cooperation, regulatory bodies and countries are able to keep the markets competitive while all agreeing on a set of rules that will keep the competition fair.

Moreover, these same critics may also claim that cooperation leads to complacency in those people who see no advantage for themselves. For example, the communist movement supported the creation of a government built on cooperation where contributions of the individual were brought together and redistributed to the group. In its early days, the government of China became a communist nation with this concept in mind. Without motivation from competition to exceed quotas, farmers felt no incentives to contribute beyond what is necessary. On the other hand, China today seems to have found a balance between competition and cooperation becoming one of the largest global economies of our time. This argument makes a fair point that competition is a great motivator yet also shows how cooperation played a big role in the phenomenal rise of the Chinese economy.

It has been shown that though competition is ever present in our modern world, cooperation is also a necessary presence. Competition can be a great motivator but can also open the door to more selfish ideals. Yet a dearth in competition can lead to complacency in a population. We must then conclude that cooperation, with support from a competitive environment, will yield the best results.