"Because society is always changing, laws should always change to reflect the times as well. In addition, laws should be open to interpretation based on the facts of each individual circumstance."

Write an essay in response to the following statement in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement. Explain your reasoning in a clear, well-organized essay that supports your position. Consider both sides of the issue when developing your response

It is true that society is constantly changing, we have seen over the centuries a marked trend in western countries toward freedom of liberty for all, and as the definition of who is included in "all" changes, so should the laws that were created in the past be updated to reflect these changes. It will be shown that antiquated laws are detrimental to society and often bear marks of past prejudice from lawmakers of the past. It will also be shown that though it is necessary to keep the laws of a country current, there can be negative repercussions if those laws can be brought down too quickly. Lastly, the concept of "spirit of the law" versus letter of the law will be discussed to support the thought that laws should be open to interpretation.

Laws can have past biases or prejudice built in to them. If these laws could never be changed, minorities that were discriminated against through built-in systemic racism would never be able to extricate themselves from under the thumb of oppressive laws. One need only look back to history for proof. During the days of slavery, black men and women were considered property and could not own anything themselves. Laws of the time reflected these biases and once the public opinion grew to recognize them as people in their own right, these laws had to be changed or even stricken from the record to allow them to own land and other belongings. We continue to seek equality in our laws today and without the ability to have our laws reflect the beliefs of our current society, progress would be impossible.

However, Laws that can constantly be changed are subject to constant back and forth depending on the political climate of a country. For example, in US politics today, we see a back and forth between the two main powers who gain office. One will spend their four years in office undoing the work of the previous government, while the other will do much the same if they gain office in the following election. This leads to a stalemate between the two parties and essentially brings the country to a standstill over internal and foreign policies. This example clearly shows, that though there is benefit in undoing bad policy, there is danger in doing so too freely.

Lastly, this author generally agrees that laws should be open to interpretation to a certain extent, this is seen often in court cases where judges rule on either following the spirit of the law versus the letter of the law. In certain court cases, a defendant may try to use the letter of the law as protection claiming that they have done nothing explicitly wrong (this is often seen in white collar crime where there are several grey areas in the law). However, if a defendant has violated the spirit of the law, it is well in the judge's power to issue a verdict of guilty in a well presented trial by the prosecution. This example shows how important it is to consider individual circumstances brought to court.

In conclusion, we have shown that this author mostly agrees with the statement that laws should be changed to reflect the beliefs of the time and that the letter of the law is not always the spirit of the law.