A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A nation's greatness is dependent on how it helps its citizens fulfill their life dreams, and the role that education plays to this end cannot be understated. Moreover, the issue of whether or not a nation should compel its citizens to follow the same curriculum till they enter college is hotly contested, as mentioned in the prompt. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the aforementioned statement for two reasons.

The enforcement of a uniform curriculum on all students in a country can be especially detrimental in countries with high diversity like India, as it might cause a disparity in representation for various cultures. Students belonging to different states and ethnic groups, along with learning the basic information every person needs to know, should also be aware of the uniqueness of their own cultures. In today's fast-paced world, with parents struggling to give time to their children, there is a great risk of children not inheriting the cultural riches of their ancestors. To this end, a unified curriculum might not be the most feasible option for disseminating these cultural traditions, and a set of diverse curriculums each specifically catering to different groups might be a better way out.

Moreover, giving the power to choose what a country's next generation knows about its glorious history in the hands of a few people makes the curriculum susceptible to harmful biases. This might cause a misrepresentation of the country's past in the minds of its students and can be exploited for spreading hate and intolerance against minority groups. For instance, North Korea's education has largely been focused on portarying its Supreme Leader as a divine being, and cutting the people off from the rest of the world so as to prevent dissent. Can we allow something like this to happen to our children by letting them study a curriculum susceptible to bias from people for their vested interests?

It can be argued that a unified curriculum allows uniformity and ensures that students are on the same page while starting college. But, what if this unified curriculum jusitified discrimination against underrepresented groups? This would imply that every young mind of the country would be polluted with the same hate, which is completely unjustifiable. Hence, in my opinion, it would be better for countries to allow the existence of multiple curriculums in order to allow better dissemination of cultural knowledge and prevent its future citizens from getting brainwashed into turning against each other.