A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

First of all, we need to understand what we mean when we talk about adopting a same national curriculum for all students across the country. In this essay, I am assuming a national curriculum does not necessarily mean that every student in the country will study the same subjects. Rather they will have options to chose from. but if a particular stdunent choses to study a particular subject then the syllabus, course duration , evaluation ploicy etc will be same for any other student enrolled in the same course in a different part of the country.

Now coming back to the proposition. I do not support the idea of a same national curriculum for all students before they enter college. countries that have large population and encompasses huge area like the us, are generally very diverse in terms of geograophy, ethnicity, religion, culture etc. The curriculum for each state or region thus need to be tailor-made to accomodate these differences. Even in countries which are relatively small and let us say less diverse, there is a need for different curriculums for students with a different interests and goals in life. For example, there can be a different curriculum for those who want to be technicians. Their curriulum will include vocational trainings which general students won't take. Another exapmle can be religious schools which are very common throughout the world. they learn a bit more about their religion than the general students. but all the students who will study in different curriculums should have the chance to enter college. In college although they will learn different skills and study different subjects they will major in one area. if they lack some relevant skills in that particular area, they can always do a few extra courses. but we have to keep in mind that not every student will go to college. So, they should have a choice before entering school about which curriculum to pursue.

Finally, I rest my arguement by saying that a same national curriculum for all students across the country is not a suitable solution for all students. if we consider the geographic, ethnic, cultural diversities and the differences in students ambitons the option of having more than one curriculum is better.