A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The population of my country is close to 1.3 billion. Every person is unique with respect to their ambitions and interests. It does not make sense to force each and every student with such a varied level of interest to study the same curriculum. Therefore, I would like to reject the recommendation that A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

If a nation required all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, the colleges would have to spend extra time on building the basics of the specialization the student is interested in. For example, a student who is aspiring to become a lawyer wasted the prime years of his school life learning calculus and the origins of the atom instead of learning about the constitution in depth. The law college that is the student is going to attend, now has to spend more time on explaining the basics, which can lead to an extended course duration. This could cost the student more fees and time that could've otherwise been used to contribute to the society. Furthermore, it deprives the society of a motivated workforce.

In addition, students who are weak in a few subjects still need to study them. This can prove detrimental since these subjects also account for their final grade which could be a criterion for getting admission into their dream college. For example, an aspiring writer could be weak in physics and his low score in physics caused his overall grade to fall below the cut-off of most of his preferred colleges. The student now has to settle for less, even though he was good at English.

However, having the same national curriculum could prove useful to students who are confused about their options. It is also useful for the examination authorities since they have to conduct the same exam for everyone.

Forcing the students to learn a set of predefined subjects does not prove useful to the students since it limits their thinking and it demotivates them to focus on what they actually like. They end up spending a lot of time on subjects that they aren't interested in, which could lead to a demotivated workforce.