A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is the cornerstone of every nation and children are its future academicians, workers and rulers. A strong common basis in all fields is thus essential for them to burgeon as well-educated citizens, and so that the chosen path of study or career can be a reflected decision, made by a witting mind. I wouldn't be as unqualified as is the author though, for differences between the students arise before college and this statement presents several limits.

If society was a pyramid, the uniform national curriculum would be the base. Fundamental courses in sciences, literature or history are prerequisites for pupils to be able to move on next academical steps, and are yardsticks of each one's predispositions and hurdles. The learning process evolves along a continuum, and all the instructed topics cohere to define the deal of knowledge required to culminate in any subsequent field of study. It is also clear that most secondary school students, if the choice were up to them, would pursue the most convenient path, or the one considered the less arduous. Thus, national educative benchmarks permit to standardise the required skills.

Such a uniformity might also act as a bulwark against all forms of disparities. Students from rural or underprivileged areas would be provided with the same means to succeed as their counterparts in bigger cities or wealthy surroundings. Only one entrance test would be valid to further studies in university, eliciting the need of being excellent in all the areas of study. Be they poor or rich, students would be slipped out of their comfort zone, and the best of them would highlight an insatiable thirst of learning, independent of the talent.

Stringent homogeneity, though, is detrimental to both students and professors, and would be a myopic view. Beyond a certain age, the ramifications of studying the same national curriculum are antithetical to the ones expected, and would only stymie the potential peculiar to each individual. Even if their career path isn't clearly drawn, sixteen-year-old students are fully able to identify the areas they enjoy studying, and in which they are most likely to succeed. Therefore, a nation rendering mandatory the courses of physics, for instance, even for those significantly attracted by the arts and literature, would only result in an increased loss of interest and many dropping out of school.

The role of pedagogues is also to accompany students to their apotheosis and emphasise their talents. North-East European institutions are testament to the fact that the key of education's proper functioning is the capacity to adapt to every one's idiosyncrasies, and not moulding its citizens into robots. Both instructors and students would indeed engage in a symbiotic and collaborative relationship if all of those attending the class were keenly interested in it. The contents could be broadened and extended for all to be best equipped once at university, leading to the standards of excellence's raising in the country, which would benefit in turn the whole society.