A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Call for a single, unified curriculum for all students in a country is not an issue that is unheard of. Its advocates picture an ideal world where education brings together a society that is often rife with conflicts that stem from differences. Whereas this recommendation may have a few merits of its own, I mostly disagree to it for two reasons.

Establishing a general education agenda for students before they enter college is, in a glance, a method that guarantee efficiency and equality. Some could argue that if students have the same level of knowledge on essential subjects, such as mathematics, language, and history, they can learn from the same starting point when they enroll to a higher education system. If, for example, a basic chemistry lecture has twenty students of twenty different understandings of the topic, the professor would not know from where to start. In terms of equality, a single national curriculum may appear to equip its citizens of equal amount and quality of knowledge, and therefore, increase social integration. Nevertheless, this assumption does not take into account the differences that exist in reality.

First of all, the recommendation does not consider the diversity of students. Every child has different interests and talents. It is the role of basic education to help its younger citizens to find their gifts and bloom it to its fullest. Would this be possible in a country where all students are required to learn every subject the same way? Imagine, for example, a child who wishes to learn art. There might be some hours assigned for art class in the national agenda, but not as much as the child needs. Instead, she or he would have to sit long hours in mathematics class, a subject that quells her or his overall interest in school. For a future artist, this national curriculum is neither efficient nor fair.

Furthermore, setting a uniform curriculum does not reflect the needs of various communities within a nation. Especially, subjects that involves ideological approaches and sensitive discourse for some parts of the country should not be taught in a single way. For instance, Gwangju, a southern city in South Korea, has a history of resistance against dictatorial government. The city is proud of its valor and love for democracy, but not every administration is happy about their strong sense of pride. The citizens of Gwangju would never allow the government to decide what to teach to their next generation, and fight until their freedom to teach the history of their community is returned. As such, the idea of requiring the same curriculum for all students of a nation may result in more social turmoil.

In conclusion, the recommendation of making of a national curriculum does not respect the diversity of students nor the freedom of each community to decide what to inherit to their younger generation. Education should not be a regulation forced by the nation.