A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The stance to whether the education system should be hoslistic or not is largely debated across the world. There are countries that adopt an education system that resemble those of the Chinese and Korean ones, where there are standardised tests at the end of a phase of education (ie at the end of high school etc) and students tend to have less freedom in choosing the subjects they would like to take. On the other hand, we have the more holistic approach to education, best characterised by that of the United States, where students have more freedom to select the path that is more aligned to their own interests and aspirations. The prompt states that a nation should mandate that all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I do largely agree with the statement for the following two reasons.

Opponents of such an ubiquitous system often state the need to cater to the needs of different students. Not every student is equally capable of learning certain types of curriculum. In the context of a more art inclined student, one may argue that by forcing the student to take statistics in mathematics or quantum physics, not only does that hinder the artistical development, it also adds unnecessary stress to the student as he/she struggles to understand concepts that is not compatible with him/her. In other examples, it might be too difficult for a student better with numbers to understand the abstract arts and literature should that be part of the national curriculum. I fully agree with them but that is precisely the reason for the need of a properly defined national curriculum. While certain concepts are more difficult to grasp, they are the funamental building blocks of human. Statistics for example, helps one to better appreciate things in life that is random in nature, while basic understanding of arts and other mediums of expressing creativity might stimulate innovation in the engineering or science sector. It is therefore necessary to impart such basic knowledge through a national curriculum.

A standardised national curriculum is also beneficial as it is likely that more attension and resources can be devoted into crafting a well balanced structure. Every country has a limited amount of spending set aside for education. By having a curriculum that caters to a large group, if not all of the students, there will be more resources dedicated to supporting its development and execution. For example, the eudcation ministry can have the person with the most experience in the country, or even abroad to define the structures of the curriculum. There could also be more supports to having the schools host excursions that might help with the students' learning. Therefore, a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum.

Another benefit of a standardised curriculum is in the selection criteria of college admission and the continuity of study upon admission into college. A standardised curriculum will mean that all the students will be judged on the same basis. The tests, such as the SAT, can be designed such that a balance is acheived. For example, the math section of the GRE is designed to tests funamental topics of math such that even someone that is better in arts are not tested on excessively difficult topics. Based on the common tests, there can then be a fairer admission into college. And it does not stop there. Once admitted, the lecturers will know where all the students are in terms of the grasp of knowledge and he/she does not have to spend more time to go through the fundamentals just to make sure everyone is on the same line. These in turn saves resources. Imagine having different curriculum in every state in the USA and having to standardise them only in college. Hence a country should reuqire a standardised curriculum before college.

In conclusion, for the best use of limited resources, and in order to impart basic knowledge for the students to better understand the world, the nation should mandate its students to learn the same lessons before college. However, there should also be some degree of freedom and opportunities for students to explore their interests outside of the national curriculum.