“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they

enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

'If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life thinking it is stupid.' The given issue states that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. However, I strongly disagree with this statement based on the following two reasons.

Firstly, not everyone is the same. Each student has different interests, different goals in life, and different aptitudes. Making everyone study the same curriculum will instead kill the dreams of many students who would have excelled in a different field. For example, if a student is interested more in the study of History and Politics, there is no reason for him to divert his attention towards Biology and Chemistry. He is better off studying history journals to follow his passion, rather than perform chemical experiments in a laboratory. What this cites is that one should study what he is passionate about because when one follows his interests, he is automatically driven towards being the best in it, which in fact helps him grow and mature. Forcing students to stick to a strict curriculum will only limit their potential and might even demotivate them if they fail to perform well in a subject that they are not interested in.

Secondly, the world is ever-bustling and full of opportunities in every field of study. We are no more in the industrial era, where science and engineering fields were dominant, or in the tech-boom era, where the computer and IT fields were dominant. In today's world, there is a plethora of opportunities, may it be in the field of medicine, history, or commerce, and one cannot go wrong following his interests. For example, one might think that the study of history interests him and might want to follow that field and someone else might like music and want to study that field. In any case, both can achieve the highest level of success. The first can become a reputed historian in his field and the second can be recognized by a reputed label for his work and take him to be one of the most celebrated artists of the century. In either case, they are achieving success even if they went out of the common norm of studying technology, engineering, medicine, etc. So making students study a common curriculum that may emphasize topics that are popular at that time may lead to a narrowing of interests and decrease the diversity of occupations later on in the nation.

Of course, one might argue that college is the place where one focusses on his major and pursues his goals and school is for character development and basic knowledge. But one should understand that school is where the seed is sown into a student's mind which is then followed by the student. If a strict curriculum is implemented, it will create nothing more than a factory which mass produces students made to follow a single interest. This is not only detrimental for the student, but also for the nation.